Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the North Eastern Bridge Association
held at Darlington Bridge Club on 24 May 2012

Present: Ken Spragg (Chairman), Ann Caygill (Vice-Chairman), Sue Caygill (Treasurer), Ian Rankin (Chief Tournament Secretary), Bev Godfrey (Congress Secretary), John McCourt (Secretary) and other members.

1. Presentation of Trophies

This item was moved to the start of the meeting as the meeting was not Quorate at 18:35.

The following trophies were presented:-

Inter Club Shields for Divisions A to E

John Clark Salver

It was announced that Martin Kane won the Player of the Year trophy.

At 18:45 the Secretary announced the meeting was Quorate and the Chair started the meeting


2. Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from Jocelyn Gordon and Chris Owen


3. Chairman’s Report

My thanks to Darlington Bridge Club for hosting the 2012 NEBA AGM.

My 3 year term as Chair of the NEBA ends today. I thank all who have served on the executive for their help and support during this period and also thank the Tournament Secretaries and Directors without whose efforts the NEBA competitions would not exist. I would also like to thank Neil Aiston for continuing to manage and update the NEBA Web Site, and the two selectors Liz Muir and Clive Owen.

In the last year once again an NEBA team has won a National Competition. Congratulations to Steve Ray’s team for winning the Pachabo Cup. Clive Owen’s team narrowly missed out on retaining the Tollemache Cup and finished second. This confirms that NEBA are now a major force on the county scene.

I wish the new Executive well. I would also encourage existing NEBA members to seek new bridge players and to be friendly towards learners.

The Chairman’s Pairs competition for the Carpenter Bowl will be held on Sunday 22nd July at St Georges and I hope to see you there.

3. Minutes of the last meeting

The minutes of the 2011 AGM, held on 23 May 2011 were circulated. Bev Godfrey proposed that the minutes be accepted, Ian Rankin seconded the motion and the minutes were agreed.


4. Treasurer’s Report

The Accounts for the year ended 31st March 2011 were circulated. The Treasurer reported that there had been a small loss for the year. The Congress had also made a small loss but it was hoped the change of venue would result in an increase in numbers for the 2012 Congress. The NEBA would be replacing the 11 year old Duplimate with a new one during the coming year. P2P subscriptions had held up so that all fees can be held at the same level for the coming year. She thanked the Auditor, Chris Hope, for once again auditing the accounts.

Acceptance of the accounts was proposed by Julian Gibson, seconded Tom Robinson and carried unanimously.


5. Election of Officers

The Chair was standing down.

Only one nomination had been received for each post. Ann Caygill was nominated for Chair and Val Gibson nominated for Vice Chair. The present incumbents were nominated for the remaining three posts. The proposal to elect all the people proposed was moved by Peter Burnip , seconded by Hayden Dando and agreed unanimously.

The Officers elected are as follows:-

Chairman Ann Caygill
Vice-Chairman Val Gibson
Treasurer Sue Caygill
Secretary John McCourt

Chief Tournament Secretary Ian Rankin


6. Election of Auditor

Chris Hope was proposed by Bev Godfrey, seconded Julian Gibson and re-elected unanimously.


7. Any Other Business

There was none. The meeting closed at 7.05pm