Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the North Eastern Bridge Association held at Brunton Bridge Club on 23rd May 2011


Present: Ken Spragg (Chairman), Ann Caygill (Vice-Chairman), Sue Caygill (Treasurer), Ian Rankin (Chief Tournament Secretary), Bev Godfrey (Congress Secretary) and other members.


1. Apologies for Absence

John McCourt (Secretary)

(Clive Owen, Margaret Owen, Chris Owen, John Atthey via email to the Secretary)


2. Chairman’s Report

My thanks to Brunton Bridge Club for hosting the 2011 NEBA AGM.


Our congratulations must go to Clive Owen and his team (Bill March, Val Gibson, Julian Gibson, Damian Hassan, Martin Kane, John Atthey, Chris Owen, Malcolm Oliver) who, this year, won the Tollemache Cup for NEBA for the first time. This was a superb performance against some very strong county teams. Chris Owen again played for England in the Junior Camrose matches, this time with Tom Dessain.


Some of our domestic NEBA competitions have seen a decline in the number of participants over the last few years and have reached the point at which their viability is in question. The Executive is trying to address this problem by consulting affiliated clubs for possible solutions.


Recently the NEBA website has had to be replaced due to changing computer technology. We are fortunate that Neil Aiston has taken the trouble to learn how to use a new web page design software package. Thank you Neil for the new site and Inga for her help in checking the links.


I would like to thank all the members of the Executive and tournament secretaries for their work and support during the past year.


3. Minutes of the last meeting

The minutes of the 2010 AGM, held on 26th May 2010 were circulated. Ian Rankin proposed that the minutes be accepted, Mary Page seconded the motion and the minutes were agreed.


4. Treasurer’s Report

The Accounts for the year ended 31st March 2011 were circulated. The Treasurer reported that there had been a small loss for the year, the Congress accounts were similar to the previous year, the P2P income was in line with previous years’ subscriptions and that all fees would be remaining the same. She thanked the Auditor, Chris Hope for once again auditing the accounts.

Acceptance of the accounts was proposed by Bev Godfrey, seconded by Kathy Pike and carried unanimously.


5. New Constitution

Copies of the new constitution were circulated. The Chairman said that a few minor changes had been made on the advice of the EBU. The motion to accept the new constitution was proposed by Ian Rankin, seconded by Ian Eckford and agreed by the members.


6. Information on the EBU Club Committee

Information on this had/was being circulated by the NEBA Secretary to all club secretaries. NEBA are looking for a representative to sit on the Regional Club Committee that will meet a few times a year. The aim will be to feed the views of club members to the EBU via the Regional Committee.


7. Election of Officers

The only nominations received were for the current incumbents. The proposal to re-elect all officers was proposed by David Gold, seconded by Frank Springett and agreed unanimously.


The Officers elected are as follows:-

Chairman Ken Spragg

Vice-Chairman Ann Caygill

Treasurer Sue Caygill

Secretary John McCourt

Chief Tournament Secretary Ian Rankin


8. Election of Auditor

Chris Hope was proposed by Bev Godfrey, seconded by David Gold and re-elected unanimously.


9. Any Other Business

There was none.


10. Presentation of Trophies

The following trophies were presented:-

Inter Club Shields for Divisions A to E

John Clark Salver


It was announced that Martin Kane won the Player of the Year trophy.

The meeting closed at 7.05pm